Posted by: knewbieknitter | August 22, 2008

YARN SWAPPING GOODNESS

Another fun swap which I’ve taken part of on TNN

It was a well thought out Swap and the brain child of my friend Kelly.

The swap was to be done to a theme of your choice and consisted of 5 parts.

*Hand Dyed Yarn

*Pattern

*Recipe

*Knitting related gift

*small “other” gift

I took part in 2 swaps the first one I can now show you as the person has received it 😀 (the other person is yet to receive hers as she’s in Australia so the post is a bit slower)

The theme I chose for Swap 1 was “Jellybeans” based on this poem

Families are like jelly beans
Each one uniquely coloured,
Some are red, some pink, some green
And some are even spotted!
Each one’s flavour is all its own
Some tart, some sweet, some sweeter,
Some get scooped up right away
And some get saved for later.
But although each one’s different
And some favoured over others,
Put ’em all in a basket and
They all go great together
!

My yarn was dyed in “Jellybean” colours of bright reds, blues, yellows, greens, oranges and of course black. I used a combination of Acid dyes and cake gels to acheive the look. The yarn is Cleckheaton country 8ply.

The pattern I chose was “Jelly Beanie” (rav link)

The Recipe: Jelly Bean Biscotti

The knitting gift: Some Jelly bean coloured stitch markers

The other gift: A noodle box of Jelly beans 🙂

The other swap I’ll do a post for later (as I said the person hasn’t received – in that post I also have pics of the gorgeous packages I received 😀 )

Responses

  1. one word….YUM!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  2. Ohhhhhhhh awesome theme hun well done 😀 that wool is yummy!!!

  3. So absolutely gorgeous! How beautiful are all those colours?!?!?!?!?!?!?!

  4. So cool, bet she loved it

  5. wow very very cool!

  6. WOW!
    That is an awasome skein of yarn!

  7. […] took part in 2 yarn swaps. For the first one I sent out 2 packages (one I blogged about here which was actually my last post for many months – whoops sorry and the 2nd package was sent to the […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

