Posted by: knewbieknitter | January 7, 2009

Wedding – The DIY way

It was my Little Sisters wedding on Saturday apart from the Rain (now thats one thing i couldn’t help with) the wedding was lovely.

They decided that they would pull their wedding forward to January – that gave them 5- 6 weeks (over christmas ๐Ÿ˜• ) to get things organised. They chose to have a small DIY wedding…. I’m all for DIY so of course I was roped in eager to help ๐Ÿ˜€

My main task was to make the girls flower girl outfits – they were wee garden fairies. – see this post. The beautiful photo of Izzy looking angelic was taken by my aunty ๐Ÿ˜€

Then a week or so out from the wedding their photographer decided that it wasn’t suitable…. No problem – I’ll take some snaps for you. (this was actually a good excuse to practice as I’m hoping to take an Amateurs photography course in the next year or two – I’m happy with the results from my basic Digital SLR camera – ok it’s realy my other sister Juju’s camera but I have it on long term loan)

here are a few of my favourites –

And then on the day of the wedding a friend (who was making the cake) forgot the wedding was THAT day, mum called me in a panic…. No worries Mum I have an idea I’ll be round in 10mins ๐Ÿ˜€ .

2 chocolate mudcakes from the cheesecake shop, a bunch of gerberas, some ribbon and butterflies…. Voila. I’m actually quite pleased with my 20min wedding cake – I think most of the guests didn’t realise the rush it was made in until we told them.

Mum and my aunty done most of the decorating and they too done a fantastic job.

To Hannah and Lee – I wish you a lifetime of happiness.

xoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxo

Responses

  1. Gorgeous! the girls, your sister, the cake! Pure awesomeness ๐Ÿ˜€

  2. Doesn’t H look so grown up now! The wedding looks beautiful ๐Ÿ™‚
    And I LOVE the blogs fresh new look

  3. Yes she does look all grown up now ๐Ÿ˜€ I guess she is being a married woman and all. Though i think I’ll always think of her as 12 as if I admit how old she is then that means I’m ancient.

    I decided the blog needed a makeover so that I could start fresh blogging. The pic in the header was taken at Mt Victoria in Devonport just before izzy got struck with gastro and ended up in hospital ๐Ÿ˜•

  4. WOW now they would have been lost without you hun! Well Done!

  5. Hehe I think they would have coped – but I love organisation so I think that things might not have been as “wedding” like – my sister was happy just for a casual garden party type thing but I’m quite pushy and steered her towards a more wedding like feel. In otherwords I was just a bossy britches ๐Ÿ˜€

  6. Wow, you have been busy updating haven’t you!! ๐Ÿ˜‰

    Fab photos – did you get the ones I sent through?

    Your craftiness is so inspiring….. although I’m not the sewing / knitting type, it’s lovely to think we may share a bit of the family artistic gene!

    Love, L


Leave a Reply

Categories

